Postcards, Recipes, Stories, What???!!!

The shapes any blog can take are as wide as one’s imagination can stretch.

Postcards From The Dinner Table is a food blog in ways, yes. It is also a postcard blog. And now, it is a story blog also – with the addition of the narrative element. The narrative element of whomever is eating the food always seems to me such a vital part of each bite anyone takes!

In its current shape, the postcards lead the way. They are the start of the path – where it all begins. They can lead us to food history, to foodways far and wide, large and small, industrial and/or local. The postcards can lead us to recipes for things we might wish to cook in our own homes, or recipes we might just wish to look at and taste in our minds. And they can lead us to thinking of what we do when we take a bite or offer a bite . . . of our internal longings or repulsions and of how we and others handle these quirky things, on a day to day basis. And truly, how we handle the quirky things we feel about food is telling about how we handle other things in life that may – in a larger or broader sense – be more important.

And then of course there is the pleasure found in a tale.

I’ve received some interesting comments in my e-mail box about the new format ‘with story’. Those who like it, really like it. Those who want to have a clear sense of understanding ‘what this blog is supposed to be about’ are somewhat confused by it.

I like it. I like the stories. I like the narrative element so intensely that I want to jump up and down and shout ‘yes!’ when I finish writing those parts.

Therefore I do hope that most of you will too. I don’t promise that every story will be a picture of prettiness – because in reality, life is not like that (unless of course you do  heavy drugs that disallow accurate perception of the thing we generally call ‘reality’) (or alternately if you are of the personality type which cheers loudly of the goodness of things even as the avalanche of snow is aiming towards your head).

But I do want to know what you think, so if you have anything to say . . . here’s the space to do it –  I’m all ears. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Postcards, Recipes, Stories, What???!!!

  1. i want both – there is a time and a place for everything, and sometimes i just look at the pictures, but other times i just read the story
    i dont think i want recipes – they are found all over the place; i want a good tale…

  2. I’m glad to hear each of your thoughts, and will keep them in mind.

    Those of you who know me know that in general the recipes are a secondary thing to me – but the thing I have to wonder is how many hits (new readers) recipes bring in the door. Maria, I think you noted that for your blog they bring in a lot of readers . . .

  3. What a coincidence! I just popped by to tell you that after all that chatter with you and postcardy about Andersen’s “famous” pea soup, I decided to drag that ham hock out of the freezer and conger up a batch of pea soup, minus the carrots.

    I guess you could say I find the post cards as a cultivated temptation that leads me to whatever culinary journey I choose. Sometimes I want to see and other times I want to react.

    I do realize there is the notion out there that recipes bring the “hits.” I’m not totally convinced of that yet. Being a fairly new food blogger, however, I am convinced that imagery plays a huge part!!!

    If I could put together a post as eloquently as you, Karen, it wouldn’t matter how many recipes or pics I included, your post would be the memorable one.

    If you get a moment, I think you will find this “techo blog” has approached the theory of recipes in quite an unusual way. Sure to your liking. Mean while, back to the pea soup, love bay leaf in mine too:)

  4. I LOVE this idea. Many of us are “hungry” for fresh way of interacting with postcards or other visuals. Experimentation is great!
    I don’t see that combining postcards with any kind of text -however long – is a problem because it’s easy enough to just look at the postcard and ignore the rest!
    Also, as you know, posts can also be truncated with the MORE button so people can scan the visuals with ease.
    I also love the overall look and organization of your site – although it took me a while to find the Comment button!
    Good luck,
    Evelyn in Montreal

  5. Thanks, Evelyn! 🙂
    Louise, that site is very amusing. What a surprise to come across something like that! 😀

Leave a Reply

