Men in Aprons

I’ve been thinking about aprons lately. What they are, what they mean, what they look like and things like that. You may think this denotes the approach of mental enfeeblement on my part, and it could be so – but I’m enjoying it very much thank you!

Women in aprons are one thing, of course. And men in aprons are yet another. Whether we are all the same under the aprons is an idea available for musing upon, naturally.

I’ve been hanging around with a guy in an apron, at least on the pages of a book. Hyacinth of ‘The Princess Casamassima’ has been with me every night recently as my head hits the pillow before falling asleep. At this point, that translates to 447 pages of him – with still a bit to go till the story ends at page 591. Hyacinth wears an apron when he works as a fine bookbinder – and the aprons of his co-workers in the small shabby shop figure in the narrative which is supposedly about a princess but really about a short Englishman who is really a Frenchman in ways. But back to aprons!  Here are some to look at:

No aprons for cooking! That surprised me a bit. I think of cooking first, really, when I think of aprons.

14 thoughts on “Men in Aprons

  1. I like your visual aids, especially the one with Teddy Roosevelt. Apron-like garments are quite common in terms of their function. Though they may be made of different material depending on whether one is a cobbler, a painter, a chef, or a welder, I wouldn’t look at a man in an apron and think the same thing as I would if he were wearing a skirt that clearly isn’t a kilt (or a tunic of some kind a la ancient peoples of the Mediterranean).

  2. Interesting thing to think about and I think there is a rich history behind the apron. Aprons (or a similar workman’s cover) go back some 5000 years ago in ancient Egypt, as can be seen on various walls in tombs, etc. I suspect even before that, tribal people used a similar covering as well. A simple garment recording the work of humankind.

  3. I am no pro but i do love to cook and I have been told on several occasions that I look quite handsome in an aprons. I will get a pic of me in one my blog and let you decide hahaha
    toriano
    thedish22.wordpress.com

  4. I’d like the first sculpture in my hallway!
    A great expression, the male Mona Lisa in a ‘pinny*’.
    Great colours too, really artistic use of light blue, red and white wig.
    should be on the Sartorialist website!

    have you thought about a tabard lately?
    A nice posh English version.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabard

    Thanks ever-so.
    T
    *my mum’s word for them.

  5. Thanks for all of your comments, guys! And thank you also, nameless wordpress editor who featured the post. 🙂 I look forward to seeing you all more, around the blogosphere.

  6. A little etymological aside:

    “The nappe is the source of our word “napery,” which stands for all table linens. “Napkin” is a diminutive form, and “an apron” is an altered form of the original “a napron.” Likewise, nappé is a culinary term used to describe a sauce that is just thick enough to coat, or cover, a food item.”

    (excerpt from “Remarkable Service,” a book I edited — lo, these many years ago — for the CIA)

Leave a Reply

