Cats at Tea Time

cats fin

cats back fin

Dear John – Don’t you think these cats are “sissies” when it comes to mice? I took care of Doris Tyrell’s little dog one day last week and she brought me six of these cards to send to my grandchildren. You should have seen how scared the dog was during a thunderstorm! Love from Grandfather and Grandmother

It looks like teatime was interrupted for these prim and proper kitties by the rude intrusion of what appears to be a family of rats! If the table could be re-set, the linens straightened, the tea replaced by a bit of brandy or champagne to speed recovery from this terrible shock, would the kitties then want to return to their pastries? I think not. If it were my dinner, I’d be bringing out the smoked salmon.

8 thoughts on “Cats at Tea Time

    • Cute, yes . . . it is!

      I’m not so sure though, that the characteristic posing of a black cat as the maid is entirely appreciated by some who would view it – though it was perhaps representative of our culture during certain times past – at least as the artist understood it.

      Today if the scene were repainted we might see a tabby or a calico, a gray or even a white cat in the servant’s position, and be glad at least of the opportunity for less stringent classification of people (or cats) based on their skin or fur color. 🙂

  1. your blog is fantastic! the very idea of dining and postcards. i will be visiting often.

    i love this one about cats, glad to see it’s on your banner too because it’s just too charming.

  2. Thanks, fijipina – and your blog is fascinating too – I don’t think I’ve ever seen one on the culture of fiji. I’ll be visiting you also. 🙂

  3. I just remembered you mentioned old photos and postcards a while ago (for your blog possibly?) but probably your new work “The Sly Tyrant” will overtake the urge to emerge graphically in this way.

    So let me know if you have any boxes of postcards you want to unload. I may be in the market for them. 😀

  4. I like the fact that the servant (server??) seems not to have / be wearing shoes! A dropped cake – that happpened at the Hotel last week and I have pix which I’ll post. Very funny, these ‘dropped dishes? 🙂

    Diana.

    • I’ve dropped things that at times seemed to fly right out of my hands – utterly no reason for it. Except maybe gremlins?

      Will look forward to seeing those photos, Diana! 🙂

Leave a Reply

