Manna Found in October 2003

During my research the other day I came across a newspaper story from The Holy Observer dated October 15, 2003.

SINAI PENINSULA, EGYPT – In a startling new discovery that is turning the heads of biblical scholars and skeptics alike, manna—a nondescript bread-like eatable—has reportedly been found covering the ground each morning in a dry and desolate region outside of Serabit El-Khadem.

Hossam Almeleh, an anthropology student at the University of Cairo, was conducting a research project with Dr. Daunis Abadi and two of his classmates when he stumbled upon a 27-acre desert flat completely covered with a white bread-like substance.

I was pretty happy, let me tell you. Not only was manna around, but there was even a photograph of it! Granted, I thought to myself “This doesn’t look like the manna I’ve been reading about in any of the forms I’ve come across it so far, but then again it’s important to keep an open mind.”

There wasn’t time to read the whole story when I first found it, but today I’ve had the chance, and I’m totally thrilled by the whole thing! Here’s more from the story:

Locals from a small village nearby told reporters through a translator that the substance is food and they had been gathering and eating it each day for weeks.

While most people are only concerned with the cause of these events, some locals, who are the beneficiaries of the acres of manna, haven’t changed their attitudes in thousands of years.

“This sucks!” grumbled Josai, a farmer’s son. “Since this crap is free my parents barely let us eat anything else!” He added, “Me and my brother even have to gather it for them!”

Many people throughout the village share Josai’s perspective and wish it would just go away. One woman lamented, “If I have to eat these stupid honey wafers for forty days, let alone forty years, I think I’ll die.”

I was beginning to get a bit bewildered. Would it, could it, really happen that manna would appear and locals would say “This sucks!” (?)

There were some other thoughts offered in the article:

Dr. Martin Bleamer of Vanderbilt University is doubtful. He has been onsite in recent days studying the events in an attempt to explain this mystery. He comments, “Our goal right now is to reverse engineer a recipe for the bread so we can pinpoint its origin and maybe even patent a mannaburger.”

From belief to commerce in one easy step. Isn’t it wonderful!

For the full article, please view original source at The Holy Observer.

If you have time, you may want to read this, also.

Sometimes reading the fine print matters.

Now I’m off to figure out how to Twitter this story.

2 thoughts on “Manna Found in October 2003

  1. – From al-Busaan (The Garden) by the medieval Persian poet Sa’adi (13th.C.)

    ““… I regretted that I should go from the garden of the world empty-handed to my friends, and reflected: ‘Travelers bring sugar-candy form Egypt as a present to their friends. Although I have no candy, yet have I words that are sweeter. The sugar that I bring is not that which is eaten, but what knowers of truth take away with respect.’

    “… For thee is set the bright moon in the sky by night, the world-illuminating sun by day.
    Like a chamberlain, the heavens spread for thee the carpet
    The wind and snow, the clouds and rain, the roaring thunder and the lightning glittering as a sword – all are His agents, obedient to His word, nourishing the seed that thou hast planted in the soil.
    If thou be athirst, fret not, the clouds bear water upon their shoulders.
    From the bee He giveth thee honey, and manna from the wind; fresh dates from the date tree and the date tree from a seed.
    For thee are the sun and moon and the Pleides; they are as lanterns upon the roof of thy house.
    He bringeth rose from the thorn and musk from a pod; gold from the mine and green leaves from a withered stick.
    With His own hands did He paint thine eye and eyebrows – one cannot leave one’s bosom friends to strangers.
    Omnipotent is He, nourishing the delicate with His many bounties.
    Render thanks each moment from they heart, for gratitude is not the work of the tongue alone.
    O G-d, my heart is blood, mine eyes are sore when I behold thy indescribable gifts…”

    It is interesting that Sa’di groups manna with honey and dates – all three being thought of as key sweeteners and nutritious foods throughout the Middle East. Mana is mentioned in the Qur’an.

    Fast-fooding manna! Sa’di and others would be spinning in their graves! It is its rarity that helps promote its specialness.

  2. This is so beautiful, Diana. Thank you, again. 🙂

    Reading it has given me much to think about – and I hope to write a bit about those thoughts soon . . .

Leave a Reply

