Lenotre’s Cakes

(This is part 3 of 3 parts – the first two parts of the story are composed of the posts of the previous two days . . . šŸ™‚ )

This is what Lenotre taught me to make that day.

And that was the day I decided to not quit that job. And it was probably the day I decided I could actually become a chef, also.

So it is the Strawberry Cake that I remember most, about all of it – when someone says ‘Lenotre‘.

You had to be there to see all the results – among which were some line cooks with slightly different attitudes.

But the best thing really was that buttercream.
Mille remerciements a Gaston Lenotre.

7 thoughts on “Lenotre’s Cakes

  1. I’ve been playing catch up on all your recent posts. Sorry to be gone so long. Molly O’Neill is a favorite of mine as is Gaston Lenotre. I would love to know more about Lenotre. I better get reading.

    Thanks for sharing, Karen. I so enjoy your blog!

  2. The wiki entry on Lenotre is very good, actually.

    I like this book of his (the Desserts and Pastries) the best. Second best is his Ice Creams and Candies.

    The buffet book (it might only be published in French, I’m not sure) was not that great, to my mind. Classic stuff and thorough but nothing ‘new’. Sort of textbook-ish.

  3. I must check. I may have the Desserts & Pastries book but I seem to remember loaning it to someone. I’m not much of a baker anyway. I’ll check wiki. Thanks Karen.

  4. Hi Karen,
    I just did a quick check. Found an article in New York Times. I’m going to save your link for a post I may do in May, the month he was born. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

